Casablanca finance city (CFC)

Casablanca finance city (CFC): how to get the status?

01 December 2019

Casablanca Finance City (CFC) no longer needs an introduction. You are probably aware that it is Africa's leading financial center. But what else do we know about this African economic and financial hub at the crossroads of continents?

Before answering this question, a little geography seems necessary, in addition to geopolitics. Morocco is located in the north of the African continent, a natural crossroads between Africa and Europe. Due to its position, the kingdom has considerable substantial assets enabling it to be the natural gateway to the rest of the continent.

 

From a European perspective, a natural gateway to Africa.

 

Located only 14 km from Europe, Morocco, also at the confluence of the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean, gives direct access to a market of more than a billion consumers. The kingdom's arguments are quite strong. Indeed, the country has the second-best infrastructure in Africa, according to the 2019 report of the World Economic Forum, which promotes cooperation between the private and public sectors. Ranked 16th in the world and first in Africa in terms of maritime connectivity, Morocco, with its 16 airports, is proud to be the leading Europe-Africa hub thanks in particular to its 33 direct flights to the rest of the continent from Casablanca airport for a total of 29 countries.

 

A politically stable country

 

In addition to these advantageous positions, Casablanca is only 5h30min from Moscow, 6H30min from New York, 7H from Dubai, 8h from Montreal, and 9h from São Paulo. All these geographical elements, coupled with Morocco's political stability as well as the kingdom's economic performance means that today, CFC, located in the heart of Casablanca, can legitimately claim its place as a genuine business catalyst in Africa. And Casablanca Finance City can arm itself with solid arguments to convince.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): ideally located in Casablanca

 

Casablanca Finance City locates in the heart of the Casa Anfa area, the flagship area of the country's economic capital, in a brand new district offering a real estate offer to the best international standards, and a pleasant living environment extends over an area of 100 hectares, half of which is green spaces. The "City" offers a functional mix of offices, housing, shops, and facilities. The Anfa area, symbolized by the 122-meter Casablanca Finance City Tower - a concentration of elegance and technical and ecological performance - boasts a high-level security system and significant cultural, social, and sporting infrastructure. Highly prized by educational and health institutions, it is also an additional lung for the city because of its vast green spaces. Besides, the CFC district is connected to the rest of the capital by significant road links that supply residential areas, other Moroccan cities, and Casablanca airport located less than 25 minutes away. The "City" is also accessible via line 2 of the tramway.

 

Casablanca finance city

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): Significantly simplified administrative procedures

 

Casablanca Finance City (CFC) also and above all means simplified administrative procedures, thanks in particular to the establishment of a one-stop-shop that guarantees work permits, residence permits, and the incorporation of companies under an accelerated process. Business visa application procedures are considerably simplified. Indeed, work permit issuance will not exceed a maximum of three working days. As for residence permits for foreign workers, the time limit is only two weeks. An important detail concerning employment contracts for foreign workers is that CFC members who already have significant advantages in the processing of application procedures can collect the requested documents directly from CFC headquarters. The legalization of these can also be done on-site.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): A very free movement of people

 

These incentives also apply to procedures for applying for accreditation for financial institutions through the introduction of a consolidated form. In addition to all these incentives, there is free movement of people. At the CFC, the issue of recruiting foreign employees does not arise. Recruitment procedures for this category of workers are indeed streamlined for companies with CFC Status. This incentive is a definite advantage for the regional headquarters of multinationals with a staff of different nationalities.

We cannot talk about the fluidity of people without mentioning the free movement of capital.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Capital flow

 

CFC recognized early on the value of a flexible exchange rate regime. In this regard, CFC member companies have the option of opening a single foreign currency account for all their operations. Moreover, they have complete freedom to manage foreign currency assets from foreign sources. At the same time, CFC companies are benefiting from an extension of their travel allowance. Regarding the flow of capital, it should also noticed that the transfer abroad is made without any restriction on management and technical assistance costs. In the area of justice, CFC is also well off, with the establishment of the Casablanca International Mediation and Arbitration Centre (CIMAC). In addition to CIMAC, rooms dedicated to the ecosystem of the financial center have been made available to member companies.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): Attractive tax incentives

 

For CFC member companies, there are attractive tax benefits. Thus, financial companies, professional service providers, and holding companies are exempt from corporation tax for the first five years of their establishment. Beyond five years, they are taxable at 8.75%. According to the terms of the 2020 FDP, the SI should increase to 15%, while maintaining a total exemption of 5 years, which makes it an attractive package.

Registration fees on acts of company creation and capital increase are exempt. Besides, there is an income tax, which is also very advantageous for employees of the same companies. They have the choice between an IR rate of 20% on crude oil for five years or a standard rate beyond that for the first option. For the second option, it is a single choice equivalent to the standard RI rate. The question at this level is who and how to obtain CFC status, which gives access to this attractive package and direct access to a large community of active members in 46 African countries.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): Who awards the label?

 

To get this label, you must first prove that you have a regional vocation in Africa and go through three stages for the application procedures. First, it is necessary to contact the CFC business development team directly. A small aside, the commission, responsible for awarding the label in question, is composed of several members including a representative of the Central Bank (Bank Al-Maghrib), the chairman of Casablanca Finance City Authority, the Director of the Treasury, as well as the Minister of Economy and Finance himself.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC): The procedures for applying for the label

 

After contacting the business development team of the commission mentioned above, a letter must then be submitted to CFC describing, in detail, the development project and business plan of the applicant company to confirm its willingness to become a member. Then, it will be necessary to prepare an application file for CFC status consisting of the CFC status application form, the accreditation status application form, and the business plan. The final step will be the review of the application by a CFC commission and final approval. All this within a maximum of 45 days. Once the application has been processed and validated, the beneficiary company must send an annual report each year as well as the payment of the yearly fees related to the CFC status.

 

Conclusion

 

Becoming a member of Casablanca Finance City means having access to a large community of active members in 48 countries on the African continent. The CFC status also entitles you to Doing Business facilities and an attractive package, particularly in terms of taxation. The members of Africa's leading financial center also have the advantage of operating in an ecosystem that is emerging as the next growth driver. If three out of four newborns will be African in 2100, 24 countries on the black continent will grow to a CAGR of at least 5% by 2030. With a working population of 1.1 billion people in 2035, the African continent will see its inhabitants' purchasing power increase considerably to reach $5,000 for 70% of households in 2025.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you are interested in getting the CFC status, as our firm has gained a real expertise in supporting CFC-labelled companies.

Other articles

Tax audit in Morocco
07 December 2019

As part of their prerogatives, tax authorities routinely carry out control operations to check the accuracy of companies' tax returns. These operations are carried out either on-site or based on documents provided by the ...

Read more
Social security Morocco
29 September 2019

Social security was implemented in Morocco in the aftermath of independence to create solidarity mechanisms capable of relieving the finances of both the state and the Moroccan citizens from the risks of illness, materni ...

Read more

We are reinventing the accounting services in Morocco :

Relieve yourself of your accounting and tax burden. All you have to do is send us your documents via our online platform.

Casablanca finance city (CFC)

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : comment obtenir le statut?

28 novembre 2019 Management

Casablanca Finance City (CFC) n’est plus à présenter. Vous êtes sans doute au fait qu’il s’agit de la première place financière africaine. Mais que savons-nous d’autre de ce hub économique et financier africain à la croisée des continents ?

Avant de répondre à cette question, un peu de géographie parait nécessaire, en complément avec de la géopolitique. Le Maroc est situé au nord du continent africain, un carrefour naturel entre l’Afrique et l’Europe. De par sa position, le royaume dispose d’atouts considérables solides lui permettant d’être la porte d’entrée privilégiée vers le reste du continent.

 

D’une perspective Européenne, porte d’entrée naturelle vers l’Afrique

 

Situé à seulement 14 Km de l’Europe, le Maroc, également aux confluences de l’océan Atlantique et de la Méditerranée, donne un accès direct à un marché de plus d’un milliard de consommateurs. Les arguments du royaume sont solides. En effet, le pays a la deuxième meilleure infrastructure en Afrique, selon le rapport 2019 du Forum économique mondiale qui œuvre à la coopération entre le secteur privé et le secteur public. Classé 16e à l’échelle mondiale et premier en Afrique en matière de connectivité maritime, le Maroc, fort de ses 16 aéroports, se targue d’être le premier hub Europe-Afrique grâce notamment à ses 33 vols directs en destination du reste du continent depuis l’aéroport de Casablanca pour un total de 29 pays.

 

Un pays politiquement stable

 

Outre ces positionnements avantageux, Casablanca se situe à seulement 5h30min de Moscou, 6H3 de New York, 7H de Dubaï, 8h de Montréal et 9h de São Paulo. Tous ces éléments géographiques couplés à la stabilité politique du Maroc, marquée par une monarchie datant de plus de 12 siècles, ainsi qu’aux performances économiques du royaume qui a mis en place des politiques et réformes macroéconomiques ambitieuses, lesquelles ont abouti notamment à un meilleur cadre de politique fiscale et financière, une diversification économique-ayant comme gain sept points dans l’indice Doing business-font qu’aujourd’hui , CFC, niché au cœur de Casablanca, peut légitimement revendiquer sa place de véritable catalyseur d’affaires en Afrique. Et, Casablanca Finance City peut s’armer d’arguments solides pour convaincre. 

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : idéalement situé à Casablanca

 

Casablanca Finance City est situés au cœur de la zone Casa Anfa, zone phare de la capitale économique du pays, dans un quartier flambant neuf proposant une offre immobilière aux meilleurs standards internationaux, et un cadre de vie agréable, s’étend sur une superficie de 100 hectares, dont la moitié est réservée aux espaces verts. La « City » propose une mixité fonctionnelle comprenant bureaux, logements, commerces et équipements. La zone Anfa, symbolisée par la Tour Casablanca Finance City qui s’élève à 122 mètres –un concentré d’élégance et de performances techniques et écologiques-jouit d’un système de sécurité de haut niveau et dispose d’infrastructures culturelles, sociales et sportives significatives. Très prisée par les établissements d’enseignement et de santé, elle est aussi un poumon additionnel pour la ville de par ses grands espaces verts. Isolé du brouillant centre-ville, le quartier est relié au reste de la capitale par des liaisons routières importantes qui alimentent les zones résidentielles, les autres villes du Maroc ainsi que l’aéroport de Casablanca situé à moins de 25 min. La « City » est accessible également via la ligne 2 du tramway.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Des procédures administratives considérablement simplifiées

 

Casablanca Finance City (CFC) c’est aussi et surtout des procédures administratives simplifiées grâce notamment la mise en place d’un guichet unique qui garantit notamment des permis de travail, des cartes de séjour et la constitution de société en procédure accélérée. Pour les procédures de demande de visas « business », elles ont été considérablement simplifiées. En effet, un visa de cette catégorie peut se faire en 24h. En ce qui concerne le délai de l’octroi de l’autorisation de travail pour le salarié étranger, il ne dépasse pas la durée de trois jours ouvrables au maximum. Quant aux titres de séjour au profit des travailleurs étrangers, entre le dépôt de la demande et la délivrance de la carte, le délai est de seulement deux semaines. Un détail important en ce qui concerne les contrats de travail pour les travailleurs étrangers, les membres de CFC qui sont déjà très avantagés concernant les traitements des procédures de demande, peuvent retirer directement au siège de CFC les documents demandés. La légalisation de ceux-ci peut également se faire sur place.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Une très libre circulation des personnes

 

Ces facilités ont été également élargies aux procédures de demande d’agrément pour les institutions financières internationales ou locales via la mise en place d’un formulaire consolidé. À toutes ces facilités s’ajoute la fluidité des personnes. Au CFC, la question du recrutement des candidats étrangers ne se pose pas. Les procédures de recrutement pour cette catégorie de travailleurs ont été allégées pour les sociétés détentrices du Statut CFC. Il consiste pour les allègements de la dispense de la présentation des copies conformes aux références professionnelles pour les candidats étrangers et l’annulation de la production de l’attestation Anapec autrefois exigée pour certifier que le poste proposé n’a pas été pourvu par un candidat de nationalité marocaine. Cette avantage constitue un plus certain pour les sièges régionaux de multinationales disposant d'un personnel de différentes nationalités.

On ne peut pas parler de la fluidité des personnes sans évoquer la libre circulation des capitaux.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Fluidité des capitaux

 

CFC a très tôt compris l’intérêt d’un régime de change flexible. A ce propos, les sociétés membres de CFC ont la possibilité d’ouvrir un seul compte en devises pour l’ensemble de leurs opérations. Mieux, elles ont une totale liberté de gestion des avoirs en devises de source étrangère. Dans la même foulée, les entreprises CFC bénéficient d’une extension de la dotation voyage. Toujours en ce qui concerne la fluidité des capitaux, il faut noter également que le transfert de frais se fait sans restriction des frais de gestion et d’assistance technique. En matière de justice, CFC est également bien loti avec notamment la mise en place du Centre international de médiation et d’arbitrage de Casablanca (CIMAC). À côté du CIMAC, des chambres dédiées à l’écosystème du centre financier ont été mises à la disposition des entreprises membres.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC)

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Incitations fiscales attrayantes

 

 Pour les entreprises membres de CFC, il existe des avantages fiscaux attrayants. Ainsi, les entreprises financières, prestataires de services professionnels, holdings, sont exonérés de l’impôt sur les sociétés pendant les cinq premières années de leur implantation. Au-delà de cinq ans, ils sont imposés à hauteur de 8.75 %. D’après les termes du PLF 2020, l’IS devrait grimper jusqu’à atteindre 15%, tout en maintenant une exonération totale de 5 ans, ce qui en fait un package encore très attractif.

Les droits d’enregistrement sur les actes de création d’entreprise et augmentation de capital sont exonérés. A cela s’ajoute l’impôt sur le revenu qui est également très avantageux pour les employés des mêmes entreprises. Ils ont le choix entre un taux d’IR de 20% sur le brut pendant cinq ans, et un taux standard au-delà pour la première option. Pour la deuxième option, il s’agit d’un choix unique équivalent au taux standard de l’IR. La question qui se pose à ce niveau est de savoir qui et comment obtenir le statut CFC, lequel donne droit à tout ce package attractif et un accès direct à une large communauté de membres actifs dans 46 pays africains.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Qui octroie le label ?

 

Pour obtenir ce label, il faut d’abord justifier d’une vocation régionale en Afrique et passer par trois étapes pour les procédures de demande. Dans un premier temps, il faut s’adresser directement à l’équipe business development de CFC. Une petite parenthèse, la commission, chargée d’octroyer le label en question, est composée de plusieurs membres dont un représentant de la Banque Centrale (Bank Al Maghrib), le directeur général de Casablanca Finance City Authority, le Directeur du Trésor, ainsi que le Ministre de l’Economie et des Finances en personne.

 

Casablanca finance city (CFC) : Les procédures de demande du label

 

Après avoir pris contact après l’équipe de business développement de la commission susmentionnée, il faut dans un second temps faire parvenir à CFC une lettre contenant, de manière détaillée, le projet de dévellopement et le business plan de l’entreprise demandeuse pour affirmer sa volonté de devenir membre. Ensuite, il faudra constituer un dossier de demande du statut CFC composé du formulaire de demande du dit statut, du formulaire de demande du statut de l’agrément et du business plan. Pour la dernière étape, il consistera à l’examen du dossier de candidature par une commission CFC et l’approbation finale. Le tout dans un délai maximal de 45 jours.   Une fois la demande instruite et validée, la société bénéficiaire doit faire parvenir chaque année un reporting annuel ainsi que le paiement des frais annuels relatifs au statut CFC.

 

Conclusion

 

Devenir membre de Casablanca Finance City,  c’est accéder à une  large communauté de membres actifs dans 48 pays du continent africain. Le statut CFC donne également droit à des facilités de Doing Business ainsi qu’un package attractif notamment en matière de fiscalité. Les membres de la première place financière africaine ont aussi l’avantage d’évoluer dans un écosystème qui s’impose comme le prochain relais de croissance. Si trois nouveaux nés sur quatre seront africains en 2100, 24 pays du continent noir croîtront à un TCAM d’au moins 5% d’ici 2030.  Avec une population active de 1,1 milliard d’individus en 2035, le continent africain verra le pouvoir d’achat de ses habitants considérablement augmenter pour atteindre 5000 dollars pour 70% des ménages en 2025.

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez être accompagné dans le cadre de la procédure d'obtention de votre statut CFC, notre cabinet disposant d'une réelle expertise dans l'accompagnement des entreprises labellisées CFC. 

Autres articles

L'externalisation de votre comptabilité, réinventée :

Libérez-vous de vos tâches comptables et fiscales. Tout ce qui vous reste à faire est de nous envoyer vos documents via notre plateforme en ligne.